Area Woman Realizes She Has Resting Zoom Face

Meg Scanlon
Oct 21, 2020

BETHESDA, MD- Area woman Trisha O’Neil realized after countless hours spent on Zoom that she has Resting Zoom Face. Instead of looking at the speaker, Trisha often found herself watching her own face while listening, or more accurately pretending to listen. “I thought my face at rest was neutral, maybe even warm and expressed that I was actively listening and cared. But I now realize it’s more of an incredulous, WTF are you talking about, that idea is impossible to execute on that timeline and quite frankly just dumb. The fact that my face expresses exactly how I feel is troubling to me. Maybe I have to take an acting class, or at the very least practice in a mirror.” Resting Zoom face has been on the rise since March 2020 and is expected to keep increasing for the foreseeable future. Experts suggest thinking about something more positive to relax the face, but they understand that given the state of the world, that is easier said then done. If all else fails, try thinking about puppies and rainbows.

--

--

Meg Scanlon

Writer & actor. My writing can be seen in Slackjaw, Greener Pastures Magazine, The Hard Times, Little Old Lady Comedy and The Haven.